Dallas Methamphetamine Possession Defense Attorneys
Dallas prosecutors treat the possession of methamphetamine very seriously and will typically pursue an aggressive line of prosecution against you. With that in mind, then, you will need to take advantage of the legal options available to you now in order to protect your future while you still are capable of doing so.
At the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter, we will do everything we possibly can to help you develop a legal strategy that is intended to challenge every aspect of your case with the expressed intent of reducing or, ideally, altogether eliminating the charges that have been leveled against you.
Possible Consequences of a Conviction for Methamphetamine Possession
Since every meth possession charge will be a state felony, even the minimum sentences for the possession of this substance can be life-altering, possibly including the following:
- A minimum of two years in state jail or prison
- Up to $10,000 in fines for lesser amounts of alleged possession
- Lifetime designation as a felon
Whatever your charges happen to be, you will need to remember that you have not been convicted of anything yet and we will do everything we can to keep it that way.
FAQ: Meth Possession in Texas
Texas classifies methamphetamine as one of the most dangerous and addictive drugs, and the state has extremely serious consequences for its possession. If convicted of possessing meth, you will face the highest charges of any drug in Texas. Keep reading to learn the answers to some of the most frequently asked questions about meth possession in Texas.
How does the state determine penalties for meth possession?
The severity of the penalty for possessing meth in Texas depends on the volume of the drug possessed. On the less severe side, possessing less than 2 grams of meth is a state felony with a penalty of up to 2 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
As the volume of meth increases, the classification can increase to a third degree, second degree, or first-degree felony—the highest charge for possession is an enhanced first-degree felony for possessing more than 400 grams.
Do you always go to jail for possessing meth?
While the indicated penalties are high for possessing meth in Texas, the truth is that many cases actually get resolved with a plea agreement instead of jail time. A plea deal means that in exchange for pleading guilty, you will receive a more lenient penalty, such as reduced jail time, or just a fine along with a stint in rehab.
What should I do if I’ve been convicted of possessing meth in Texas?
Hire an experienced attorney to back your case. While the penalties seem overwhelming for possession of meth, there are options that an attorney will help you navigate to avoid extensive jail time.
Contact a Dallas Meth Possession Attorney
For more information about how to deal with the consequences of meth possession in Texas, please contact the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter. Our attorneys understand how serious these charges are and can help you fight against the life-changing consequences. Contact us by calling (214) 845-7007 to learn more about your legal options.