Underage Drinking Charges in Texas
Countless Texas minors are charged annually with offenses related to underage drinking. The legal drinking age in Texas is 21, and anyone suspected of consuming alcohol under that age could face a range or charges, many of which come with serious consequences.
If you have been charged with an underage drinking offense in Dallas, the legal team at the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter understands how much this can affect your life and your future. That’s why our entire legal team is committed to protecting the rights and freedoms of those facing such charges.
Common Underage Drinking Charges and Consequences
In the state of Texas, an individual under the age of 21 who is pulled over on suspicion of drunk driving and is found with any amount of alcohol in their system can be charged with DUI, a separate charge than DWI, and one reserved just for underage individuals. In addition to this driving offense, there are a number of other alcohol-related charges that underage individuals can face in Texas, including:
- First time public intoxication (PI) offenders could pay up to $500
- A minor in consumption (MIC) could be subject to a $2,000 fine
- Minors in possession (MIP) could be fined $500- $2,000 if convicted
In addition to fines, underage drinking charges could result in a driver’s license suspension, probation, community service, jail time, and alcohol awareness classes.
Consult an Attorney to Combat Underage Drinking Charges
If you are facing underage drinking charges, it is imperative that you secure the assistance of an experienced criminal defense attorney. If carried out to the fullest extent, drinking charges could seriously hurt a minor’s ability to attend college and find employment. At the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter, we aggressively fight for the rights of individuals charged with underage drinking offenses, and we are ready to put this experience to work for you. To speak with a member of our legal team, call (214) 845-7007 today.