Dallas Marijuana Possession Defense Attorneys
Intending to cut down on a perceived drug problem in Dallas, marijuana possession charges are aggressively pursued by Dallas prosecutors. To address the gravity of these charges, then, you will need to do everything you can to develop a comprehensive legal strategy now while you still have the opportunity to do so. With so much at stake, the Dallas marijuana possession lawyers at the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter will do everything they possibly can to help you protect your future.
Severity of Marijuana Possession Charges in Dallas
In Dallas, as in the rest of the state, the severity of penalties for marijuana possession depends largely upon the actual amount of marijuana an individual is charged with possessing. With that in mind, the maximum penalties for marijuana possession in Dallas typically fall under the following guidelines:
- Less than 2 ounces—$2,000 in fines & 180 days in county jail
- 2-4 ounces–$4,000 in fines & 1 year in county jail
- 4 ounces to 5 pounds—$10,000 in fines & 2 years in state prison
- 5-50 pounds—$10,000 in fines & 10 years in state prison
- 50-2000 pounds—$10,000 in fines & 20 years in state prison
- More than 2000 pounds—$50,000 in fines & 99 years in state prison
Regardless of how severe these allegations might be, our Dallas legal team will do everything they possibly can to reduce or dismiss the charges brought against you.
FAQ: Marijuana Possession in Texas
Are you curious about the laws and penalties for possessing marijuana in Texas? Read on to educate yourself about the consequences of marijuana possession in Texas with the answers to some of our most frequently asked questions.
Is marijuana legal to possess in Texas?
Currently, marijuana is not legal for citizens to possess in Texas. However, the state is preparing to issue licenses for dispensaries and retailers to sell marijuana-based products for medical reasons.
Who will be able to purchase marijuana-based products under this new law?
In June 2017, the first dispensaries will receive licenses to sell marijuana-based products containing low levels of THC to people who suffer from approved medical conditions, such as intractable epilepsy. Low levels of THC have been shown to treat this condition where traditional drugs have not.
What are the penalties for possessing marijuana in Texas?
Currently, the possession of marijuana in Texas is dependent on the amount held. For 2 ounces or less, the possession is a Class B misdemeanor, penalized by no more than 180 days in jail and/or a fine not exceeding $2,000.
As the amount of marijuana in possession increases, so does the classification of crime, jail time, and fine amount. For example, possessing between 4 ounces and 5 pounds of marijuana is a state jail felony, resulting in 180 days to 2 years in jail and/or a fine not exceeding $10,000.
What is the most likely outcome for possessing a small amount of marijuana in Texas?
If you possess 2 ounces or less, it is actually unlikely that you will go to jail. More likely than not, you will be able to have your case dismissed in exchange for a drug treatment program, community service, paying a fine, or some combination of these options.
For more information about how to deal with the consequences of marijuana possession in Texas, please contact the Law Offices of Mark T. Lassiter. We understand how difficult it is to handle a drug charge, especially when you do not have sufficient representation. Call our firm at (214) 845-7007 to see what one of our qualified and dedicated attorneys can do to help your case.